According to the Asian Pacific American Institute for Congressional Studies the United States will have a total of 143 Asian Pacific American leaders following the Nov. 8 elections. All races were referenced by APAICS and statistics were taken from respective election boards unless noted otherwise.

Congressional Seats

In the United States Senate, Kamala Harris won the open seat for California Senator with 62.6 percent of the vote against Loretta Sanchez. She becomes the first Indian American U.S. senator. Meanwhile, Tammy Duckworth, according to the Chicago Sun-Times, won against incumbent Republican Sen. Mark Kirk with 55 percent of the vote. Duckworth becomes the first Thai American U.S. senator.

In the U.S. House of Representatives, many Californian politicians held on to their seats including API politicians Doris Matsui (Dist. 6), Judy Chu (Dist. 27), Ted Lieu (Dist. 33) and Mark Takano (Dist. 41).

Meanwhile Democratic challenger Ro Khanna, with 59.8 percent of the vote, beat incumbent Mike Honda (Dist. 17). Incumbent Ami Bera (Dist. 7) remains in a close race against Republican challenger Scott Jones with unofficial results putting him ahead with 51.0 percent of the vote or 4,802 votes as of Nov. 16.

Meanwhile, Republican Denise Gitsham lost her bid for District 52 along with Democrat Bao Nguyen for District 46.

Outside of California, several APIs won seats to Congress. In Florida, Democrat Stephanie Murphy, who is Vietnamese American, won the race in District 7 with 51.47 percent of the vote. In Illinois, Democrat Indian American Raja Krishnamoorthi won his bid for the open seat in District 8 with more than 60 percent of the vote according to the Chicago Sun-Times. In Hawai‘i, Colleen Hanabusa and Tulsi Gabbard held on to their seats.

California State Legislature

Of the five California state Senate races featuring API candidates, only Taiwanese American Ling Ling Chang of District 29 won her campaign. Chang, a Republican, won with 51 percent of the vote, or a difference of 5,045 ballots as of Nov. 16. Mariko Yamada, Alan Nakanishi, Jane Kim, and Warren Furutani all lost their bids for the state Senate. No Japanese American has previously been elected to California’s state Senate.

In the state Assembly, Al Muratsuchi retook his former seat in District 66 with 53 percent of the vote. Meanwhile, incumbents David Chiu (AD 17), Rob Bonta (AD 18), Phil Ting (AD 19), Kansen Chu (AD 25), Evan Low (AD 28) and Ed Chau (AD 49) all held on to their seats. Adrin Nazarian (AD 46) is leading against challenger Angela Rupert with 57 percent of the vote while Young Kim (AD 65) is trailing behind at 48.8 percent in defending her seat against former Assemblywoman Sharon Quirk-Silva.

Republicans Vince Fong of District 34 and Steven Choi of  District 68, along with Democrat Ash Kalra of District 27 won open seats in the Assembly. Meanwhile, Republican Phillip Chen of District 55 is leading with 58.5 percent of the vote against Gregg Fritchle for an open seat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *