Japanese Americans, APAs win elected office


A number of Japanese Americans and Asian Pacific Americans won their races in the Nov. 8 Midterm Elections. What follows is a sampling of the winning candidates, or those projected to win.

Federal Office:
U.S. Senate:
Tammy Duckworth (D-Illinois)

U.S. House of Representatives:
Rep. Doris Matsui (D-Sacramento, Calif.)
Rep. Mark Takano (D-Riverside, Calif.)
Rep. Ro Khanna (D-Santa Clara, Calif.)
Rep. Judy Chu (D-Pasadena, Calif.)
Rep. Ted Lieu (D-Torrance, Calif.)
Rep. Michelle Steel (R-Orange County, Calif.)
Rep. Raja Krishnamoorthi (D-Illinois)
Rep. Grace Meng (D-New York)
Rep. Marilyn Strickland (D-Washington State)
Rep.-elect Jill Tokuda (D-Hawai‘i)
Rep.-elect Shri Thanedar (D-Michigan)

California State Offices:
California State Attorney General: Rob Bonta
State Supreme Court: Associate Justice Goodwin Liu

California State Senate:
Lily Mei was leading in the California State Senate District 10

California State Assembly:
Al Muratsuchi, District 66
Stephanie Nguyen, District 10
Phil Ting, District 19
Alex Lee, District 24
Ash Kalra, District 25
Evan Low, District 26
Vince Fong, District 32
Mike Fong, District 49
Phillip Chen District 59
Soo Yoo, District 67
Tri Ta, District 70

California Local Races:
Carin T. Fujisaki, First Appellate District Court, Division 3
Cynthia Lie, Associate Justice Court of Appeal, Dist. 6 (Santa Clara County)
Ellen Kamei, Mountain View City Council
Naomi Nakano-Matsumoto, Fremont Union High School District Governing Board
Justin Wang, Sunnyvale Dist. 3 Councilmember
Wayne Lin, Rancho Rinconada Director

National State:
Julie Yamamoto, Idaho House of Representatives (D11A)
Samantha Vang, Minnesota State Representative (D38B)
Samantha Sencer-Mura, Minnesota State Representative (D63A)
John Liu, New York State Senate (D16)
Grace Lee, New York State Assembly (D65)
Ron Kim, New York State Assembly (D40)
Hai Pham, Oregon House of Representatives (D36)
Aruna Miller, Maryland Lt. Governor
Daniel Nguyen, Oregon House of Representatives (D38)
Thuy Tran, Oregon House of Representatives (D45)
Khanh Pham, Oregon House of Representatives (D46)
Hoa H. Nguyen, Oregon House of Representatives (D48)

Hawai‘i State
Hawai‘i State Senate*:
Lorraine Inouye, District 1
Ronald Kouichi, District 8
Stanley Chang, District 9
Les Ihara Jr., District 10
Carol Fukunaga, District 11
Sharon Moriwaki, District 12
Glenn Wakai, District 15
Michelle Kidani, District 18
Maile S.L. Shimabukuro, District 22
Chris Lee, District 25

Hawai‘i House of Representatives*:
Kyle Yamashita, District 12
Nadine Nakamura, District 15
James Tokioka, District 16
Daynette Morikawa, District 17
Bertrand Kobayashi, District 20
Jackson Sayama, District 21
Adrian Tam, District 24
Scott Saiki, District 25
Jenna Takenouchi, District 27
John Mizuno, District 29
Gregg Takayama, District 34
Ryan Yamane, District 37
Lauren Cheape Matsumoto, District 38
Lisa Kitagawa, District 48
Scot Matayoshi, District 49

*Elected officials in Hawai‘i identified by name only.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *